Tags

, , , ,

Skip this post if you’re in the mood for happy. Trigger warnings for the last two.

12 January: Zuma’s unwelcome distraction

The African National Congress and its political allies are standing firmly behind Jacob Zuma, in spite of the legal uncertainties thrown up by the Appeal Court when it overturned Judge Chris Nicholson’s dismissal of the charges against Mr Zuma last September.

13 January: HRT ‘can shrink women’s brains’

Some forms of hormone replacement therapy (HRT) can slightly shrink the brains of post-menopausal women, a US study has suggested.

[...]

But UK experts said the study, published in Neurology, had flaws.

13 January: Baby born two days after mother dies

Jayne Soliman had been declared brain-dead but doctors kept her heart beating long enough for her daughter Aya Jayne to be delivered by caesarean section, British newspapers reported.

13 January: Polanski rape victim wants case dropped

“True as they may be, the continued publication of those details causes harm to me, my beloved husband, my three children and my mother. I have become a victim of the actions of the district attorney,” she wrote in a brief filed with the court today.

… and I think I’m moving my blogging focus away from newspapers for a while.

