Tags

, ,

Back in May, I asked you what sort of music you’d recommend to me. (I wasn’t picky about style or era, just not wanting bigoted lyrics – still would like to hear your recs!) Several of you kindly put forward your suggestions. Thusly, I am launching Music Monday, which will not run every Monday, and wherein one and all can groove away happily!

Or moodily and gloriously, as the case may be with our inaugural artist, Fiona Apple. I am not sure how I managed to not hear of her earlier, because she is particularly talented, but apparently I did not. Let’s kick things off with “Criminal”, one of her biggest hits and an clip that will have you asking what the pancake? (If you click on it it’ll take you through, because they don’t allow embedding on her vids.)


The lyrics are through there. If you can’t access the video, it goes something like this: Camera. Fluffy toy. Bathtub. Closet. Floor. Television. Car. Fruit. … that’s about it. And she’s a talented lyricist. ‘And I’m bettin’ high so I’m begging you’ really struck me for some reason.

Here’s “Paper Bag”, which is probably my favourite of hers. There’s a red dress, and some nice dancing, and although the resolution isn’t great quality, I find this absorbing.

Lyrics here. Aren’t you utterly charmed?

And here’s one for the Beatles fans, a cover of “Across the Universe”. In which people trash a diner and Ms Apple defies gravity.

Lyrics here. I feel all smiley whenever I watch that.

Bookmark and Share

