Tags

, , ,

I’m thinking about bodies, body image, how we value our bodies/selves and how we are valued. Come take a trip with me. Some links are from the last few days, some are from earlier this year.

a mandate is a mandate is a mandate by tor of adrift and awake: ‘…these dudes still want a conventionally hot chick. Just one that is naturally so. Which is an even more unattainable standard than the artificial, makeup and fake tits standard.’

Against Modelling by Pilgrim Soul of The Pursuit of Harpyness: ‘What I am saying is that in my ideal world, we would not so much have a diversity of bodies in modelling as we would have a resistance to the very notion that anyone needs a model of what to look like.’

Transgender Body Image by genderkid, from which I can’t bring myself to take just a quote!

Why good curves and bad curves? by Ruth Moss of Look left of the pleiades: ‘But if curvy means soft, strokeable curves made from fat, why are the “right places” so limiting?’

your body as a listening tool by cripchick: ‘so much listening to be done. . .’

How do I love thee, genitalia? by FilthyGrandeur: ‘Our bodies are beautiful, and are deserving of praise, even the parts we keep hidden.’

Also from FilthyGrandeur, Book Covers: fragmented women?: ‘Fragmenting the female form creates an object out of what should be a person–her facelessness creates anonymity of the object which is her body.’

More on Performance and Physically Integrated Dance by Wheelchair Dancer: ‘It is one thing to give a gift and relinquish all control over it. That’s what performance is about. But it is another to give a gift and to be imprisoned by how an audience member understands it.’

I ♥ Vogue Evolution on America’s Best Dance Crew by Jos of Feministing: really, really good dancing from trans and gay people of colour, go have a look.

Devaluing the Disabled Body by meloukhia of this ain’t livin’: ‘This is a society in which the lives of people with disabilities are not highly valued.’

Owning My Thin Privilege by Laura of Adventures of a Young Feminist: ‘That was really the first time that I thought of myself as having thin privilege and it made me kind of uncomfortable. And I want to explore that uncomfortableness here.’

Bookmark and Share