Tags

, , , , , , ,

“I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in life. And I am horribly limited.”

Sylvia Plath, via Anna at Trouble is Everywhere.

“I don’t fear death; I fear remaining silent in the face of injustice. I am young and I want to live. But I say to those who would eliminate my voice: I am ready, wherever and whenever you might strike. You can cut down the flower, but nothing can stop the coming of the spring.”

Malalai Joya, who sounds kind of incredible. Do click through. Via Melissa McEwan.

“Throughout my development, I have felt that pressure, to conform or assimilate to a population more visible, more respected, more feared and envied than mine. And in the past, I have. I dissed my own communities for my own gain, and dealt with the immense wells of self-loathing I harbored for myself and my people. And that temptation, to submit, still exists in me, because really, who wants to be hated for bringing up that loathsome specter called race? Especially for a group of people who are continually told that we have no right to complain, that we should be thankful for what we have?

“A friend of mine just emailed me about this strange phenomenon we face, that we are intensely scrutinized while remaining completely invisible. People talk about us, hate us, and we aren’t expected to ever talk back, fight back. We belong nowhere. We have no rights to anything. Our bodies are not ours, and we have no voices.”

Bao Phi, on being Asian in Minnesota. Read more at Racialicious.

“All this was much simpler when I only looked up. I looked above me, at those that are oppressing me, and boy was I good at pointing fingers at others and pointing out their privilege. The other day, I royally shoved my cissexist foot into my privileged mouth. And for the first time I looked down, at those below me, those I was oppressing.”

Criss L. Cox

“For me, being an activist is a way of thinking and engaging in the world. It is not a list of activities. It is a personal decision not to accept things as they are. It is a decision to challenge oppressive ideas and actions – within oneself and in the world around us – in whatever way we are able. And there is NO hierarchy in the different ways in which people do that.”

Turtle, of The Turtle and the Wren, in comments at Raising My Boychick, in response to my post This is what an activist looks like.

“I’ll only be someone’s inspiration for a speaking fee with 4-5 figures. Inspiration doesn’t come cheap.”

Kaitlyn of Oh Monkey Trumpets in comments on Avendya’s To Whom It May Concern.

“We’re not martyrs and we’re not saints – we are people. More than that, we are – we exist, and no matter how many times our needs are disregarded, our stories are erased, we refuse to let you define us.”

From To Whom It May Concern itself. Check out Avendya’s DW, I have just found her but she seems to be all kinds of fabulous. (Teenage! Disabled! Feminist! Squeeeeee!)

“[…] some things are not well defined and these things tend to be the things we consider to be fundamental. It’s much easier to define smaller things at the edges; it’s easy to define a fingernail. It’s harder to point to where blood stops flowing away from the heart and starts flowing back towards it.”

kaninchenzero, writing about intelligence.

“[…]a trans what? A transformer? Far be it for me to stand against robot-human love.”

Queen Emily, in response to a commenter who said ‘Is it transphobic if a cis person will not date a trans?’ at Feministe.

Bookmark and Share