Tags

, , , , , , ,

Because sometimes only a story from life and heart will do.

Fame: A Romance, with Flung Tampons by Sady at Tiger Beatdown. Usually I mull over posts for a time – months sometimes – before linksploding them, and I’m not sure what what this post means to me yet, but I like it and think you should get it while it’s fresh.

One of the things I am doing, lately, is rooting through the old arsenal, figuring out which stories I have to tell you and which you would actually like to hear. The stories I am most personally invested in, it turns out, are not always the ones that invite your caring! But here is one that I must share, for whatever reason, and it is the story of the Very First Boy I Ever Had A Real Crush On. His name was Steve, and he fully intended to be famous.

i’m so heavy tonight by little light at Taking Steps. Read it now, read it over again. ‘I am twenty-seven years old. Now, people keep talking, at this time of year, about looking forward and looking back. They say, let’s check in with what I thought a year ago, what I planned and promised and was. Let’s check in with who I was ten years ago.’ This is something else.

You will be grateful, every moment, that your prayers will not have been answered. For the trials and struggles and losses. I won’t pretend it won’t hurt, kid, because it will tear you to pieces. But here you will be, and you will be okay, and you will be moving forward, and you have no idea what you want yet, or what you can truly have.

A Sudden Illness — How My Life Changed by Laura Hillenbrand. I read this two months ago and remember sharply how moved I was. I really can’t bear to take a quote from this one.

Friday Hoyden: Barbara Moore: Feminist, Lawyer, Writer & Grad Student of the U of Melbourne. 1953-2009 by Marion May Campbell at Hoyden About Town.

‘Something deep down inside of me says I will prove you wrong forever. Even the secondary whatever those too! Most definitely!
[..]
Milk and love and kindness and laughter made me do the impossible – yet again.’

Slactivism & Advocacy by Anna at Trouble Is Everywhere. Because, preach it Anna.

But I am bothered that Student Accessibility Services doesn’t think that refusing to go to places that the people they advocate for can’t go to is something important to do. Having an accessible campus shouldn’t be something we advocate for whenever it suits us, but all the time.

I Know You Are, But What Am I? Living Outside the Gender Binary by meloukhia at this ain’t livin’.

In the last few years, I’ve come to a more complex understanding of my gender identity.

After the Red Pill by Esme at Shakesville.

Another problem is that it can get so overwhelming. It’s the same way you can’t think about where each and every one of your toes is at every moment without standing still forever.

Why Are People So Afraid of Bisexuals? by Adele M. Stan at Alternet.

I was little more than a quivering exposed nerve, and a nerve knows not what it is, just that it feels things. I was almost grateful to let someone else define me.
[…]
There’s not much percentage in being an “out” bisexual. Many gay men and lesbians question the legitimacy of that identity, and many straight people either feel profoundly threatened by it, or take too prurient an interest in it. The truth is, bisexuals, by the fact of our existence, screw with everybody’s perception of how sexuality works.
[…]
I don’t know if I was born this way, and I really don’t care. It’s who I am; what more do you need?
[..]
Perhaps most disconcerting to both heterosexuals and members of the gay and lesbian communities is the way bisexuals float between worlds. We are society’s shape-shifters. Partnered with a member of the opposite sex, we appear straight. Partnering with a member of our own sex renders us gay, at least in the eyes of the world. We can choose the degree of freedom and oppression we choose to accept. Hence, we are not to be trusted.

Motherless mothering by Spilt Milk.

Now, I grieve the hypothetical and magical. I grieve the tug of the psychic umbilicus.

The Family Poster by Susannah at Raising My Boychick.

Love ties together a family – the people who you love, and the people who love you. Your family is made of those people who build you up rather than tear you down, support you at all times, these are the people with whom you feel safe. A blood connection may or may not exist.

Bookmark and Share