Tags

At present I’m trying to move homes, and is it ever a trying experience. There’s the disappointment on finding out a place that was looking promising is inaccessible. There’s the need to determine whether it’s going to be viable for me to walk to the nearest bus stop (or to the next one, much further down the road, but that’s more central, or that one a couple of streets over that has a regular express bus – where do I make the trade off?). There’s the great big vortex of spoon drain as plans and calculations and discussions are made and had until I’m really not sure how much I’ve absorbed. And, of course, there’s the going to look at homes, by the end of which I’m usually in a bad, bad place with all the standing and the walking and the travelling. I’m just about at the end of my tether when it comes to looking for a new place to live, to be frank!

And it’s lucky that I’m staying in in my lovely city, because moving away can present lots of problems for PWD. For instance, where to find a decent doctor? Can one get all the services one needs? What new problems might there be to encounter? I’ve also been a fair bit frustrated by how few wheelchair accessible places seem to be coming up. While I’m not a wheelchair user myself, I can only imagine how difficult it can be trying to find a new home that you can get into, on top of all the other difficulties in finding somewhere new!

What are some problems you’ve encountered in moving home while disabled?

Cross-posted at FWD, much as you might expect.

