Tags

I can’t tell you how pleased I am to have my laptop back! And it was still under warranty by just a few weeks, so the repairs were free! And what with my only having two exams left, I will actually have the time and energy to be writing for you all (and Feministe, and FWD/Forward, and a long overdue review for Radical Readers, and I’m coming up on the deadline for some freelance stuff too, goodness me). That is, I hope so, but then I think optimism is in order what with having Snowy [1] back with me. I’ve had a fantastic semester, by which I mean I’ve worked ridiculously hard while moving house (sort of, it’s a bizarre little story) and somehow managed to score pretty excellent marks, which is quite a relief after not being sure whether I was capable of studying anymore after my extended period of illness last year. And, as I think I’ve spent about the last two months telling you, I have so much I want to say, and now I will actually be able to say some of it! I’ve got lots spinning in my head about cultural difference and my dislike of the television show Glee and community and break-taking and youthfulness and even disability, particularly blindness, in Greek mythology.

I granted myself a bit of a holiday this past weekend, hanging out by the seaside and reading books! (I’m on book site Goodreads!) I borrowed the first couple of books in Alexander McCall Smith’s Sunday Philosophy Club series, which is about an Edinburgh philosopher named Isabel Dalhousie whose ethical musings lead her into all sorts of trouble and mysteries! Needless to say, I was thinking of the Down Under femblogosphere’s favourite philosopher, Deborah of In a strange land, all the way through. (Not the mystery-solving part, though, but you never know, Deborah might have a secret life I don’t know about!) If you’ve not read any of Smith’s work, he’s thoroughly charming and entertaining and he has a habit of writing rounded, engaging and pretty delightful heroines. I also read Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale, which is a YA book about a lady’s maid who gets locked up in a tower with her mistress, a princess who won’t marry a distinctly uncharming prince. Hale’s built an interesting world with a set of religious/cultural systems I found perhaps even more interesting than the story, but then I like to fancy myself a bit of an amateur anthropologist. So if you’re into YA, that’s one you might consider. I’ve just started Kim Edwards’ The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, which I’ve been meaning to read for years, but I don’t think I’ll have much time to read it now I have my laptop back and can start preparing for my remaining exams in earnest. I will be extremely glad when I never have to read Gulliver’s Travels ever again, let me tell you.

Life is heading firmly towards the rosy, readers, and I hope the same can be said for you. In any event, what have you been up to of late? Are there any posts you think I ought to read that I will have missed in my computerless state? Anything else you want to tell me about?

[1] Yes, I named my laptop. Her full name is Snowy Princess.