Tags

, , ,

Relevant to my interests, from Justine Larbalestier we have Curly Versus Straight:

Most of the curly-haired women I know were taught to hate their hair. They endured a lifetime of being told that the way their hair grows out of their head is messy and out of control and somehow wrong.

Jay From Two Women Blogging heard an Echo:

I heard an echo this morning. A voice from the mid-1980s came floating back to me. It’s my friend Rich, and we’re sitting in a cafe in California, sometime during my residency, and his early years on the tenure track. It’s a month or so after the morning Rich finally invited me to his home, and introduced me to his partner, Gil, and came out to me.

blue milk speaks about The terrifying softness of motherhood in a pretty perfect post:

As a second-time parent there is something now peculiar to me about how frightened we all are of the transforming effect of motherhood. Why are we so afraid of losing control, of being softened, of giving in, of being affected, of changing?

Miranda at Women’s Glib has some Thoughts on a Ruined Afternoon:

There is a voice in my head saying: You should have known this was coming. I am still walking and I say crisply, loudly, “THAT’S DISGUSTING” and he smiles and he turns and I walk and my mouth is dry. Sometimes the world is so awful it makes me ache.

Ouyang Dan at random babble… has found The One Damned Sock…:

I certainly didn’t plan for my disability to take over my life, and I don’t get to plan my good days. I just take them when I get them.

Spilt Milk writes a rather fabulous piece called Sexing the Breast:

I am sexual as well as maternal. So is my body. I am not either/or. A breast that feeds a child can also excite a lover. It is also part of a body; part of its owner’s body; part of her sexual response system.

T.R Xands wrote this almost a year ago at Adventures of the TV Addict, the Wannabe Writer, and the Should-Be Famous and I told myself I’d link it after I started talking about my age, so here we are! Go read Stick to your own age:

Why? Well, because at that point I was already well-versed in ‘net culture (and, by extension, life) and I knew who usually got ignored on the internets…and in life. I’d had more than enough of being condescended to and flat out IGNORED in real life and I discovered, if I just let people make up their own minds I was more likely to be listened to. ACTIVELY avoiding being a young black girl on the internet only came up when I needed to be “serious”. I didn’t want to be seen as “____ for my age/race/bein a girl” I just wanted someone to listen objectively. Don’t question my poorly thought out logic.

steph of 天高皇企鹅远 writes white not whatever:

As a light-skinned Chinese woman living in Australia, I feel the pressure to be light-skinned at exactly the same time as I feel the pressure to be tanned.

And Loud Silence from Silvia at Women’s Glib:

There are things I’m not supposed to be. Sometimes I take pride in my sass, my loud laugh and bursts of enthusiasm. Most of the time, though, I think about what these things cover up. The silence that is louder than the laughs and the Spanglish. The silence that we are forced to carry with us and use as a response to the injustices and the inequality we face everyday.

You Can’t Legislate Ableism Away by s.e. smith at FWD/Forward:

This is not a battle that can be fought and won in the legislature and the courts alone. It also needs to be fought in opinion editorials, on the streets, in popular culture, and in every other location that we have a chance to reach and access people.