Tags

, , ,

So, I am all moved to the new place. I’d love to take some photos for you – I so like it here, and I have a fancy shelf of books with teacups lined up in front I want to show off – but, um, I’m not sure which box the camera’s in! It’s all looking a little bit more like a home than the pile of boxes it was a couple of days ago. I missed my things so much over the last eleven months, so it was a real treat to get everything out of storage. I am very tired, and my thighs are a wall of sensitivity from walking up and down flights of stairs, but I haven’t crashed, which is great. My neighbours are all lovely, and we’ve got a tea date and a birthday party lined up already. As for the essays, I got them all done a couple of days before moving day, and I’m satisfied that they’re solid and I did the best I can, which is really all one can ask for.

But. But. My Internet connection. April is not a month in which you can expect to get anything done in Australia, because it’s back-to-back public holidays. I’m not going to get my connection up until next week, I’m told. In the mean time, on the computer and connection I’ve borrowed to write this, I can’t tweet, can’t access the Feministe backend (some would say that this is a good thing), can’t even check up on my feedreader! I feel, again, very disconnected. But I’ll live.

Until then, as I take the unpacking a bit more slowly over the next few days, I’ll be doing some reading. (I need a break from uni, and it is the holidays, after all.) I think that it’s time to catch you up on how I’m going with my goal of reading 100 books this year. I’m way, way ahead on that goal at 46 books completed and 2 in the reading stage.

Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer
My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin
Lord Sunday by Garth Nix
Magic Steps by Tamora Pierce
Not Ordinarily Borrowable: or, Unwelcome Advice by Thomas Thurman
Street Magic by Tamora Pierce
Cold Fire by Tamora Pierce
Shatterglass by Tamora Pierce
Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex by Eoin Colfer
The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman
Trickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce
Terrier by Tamora Pierce
Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce
Peeps by Scott Westerfeld
The Shadow in the North by Philip Pullman
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling
All Together Dead by Charlaine Harris
From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris
A Touch of Dead by Charlaine Harris
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See
The Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce
The Three Incestuous Sisters by Audrey Niffenegger
Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link
Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris
The Tiger in the Well by Philip Pullman
Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde
Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Girl Saves Boy by Steph Bowe
The Tin Princess by Philip Pullman
Dead and Gone by Charlaine Harris
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell
Page by Tamora Pierce
Squire by Tamora Pierce
Lady Knight by Tamora Pierce
Pretties by Scott Westerfeld
Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris
Specials by Scott Westerfeld
The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld
Touching Midnight by Scott Westerfeld
Blue Noon by Scott Westerfeld
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones

Yes, I’ve had a bit of a Tamora Pierce sort of year. Would you like a review of any of these? I’m also currently reading Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (only because that blasted university is making me; I assure you that I got an online copy because there is no way I am paying for Dickens) and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (which starts off being about a teenage boy science fiction nerd who can’t get laid and turns out rather intense and good). My next one is Karen Healey’s Guardian of the Dead, because I’ve been saving that one for Moving Week for, well, weeks.

Right. I’m off to go and clear things off my bed so I can collapse dramatically.

