Tags

,

One of the good things about writing a blog is that I have a record of what has been going on in my life, the ways in which my thoughts have run. I don’t have a great memory myself. And even for those people who do, it’s hard to remember the cadence of what happened and what you thought and how you felt.

In order to pursue justice, you need to know that for which you are seeking justice. You need to know yourself, know history, know the world. You need to know the truth, not the story that your brain or society substitutes in.

Justice starts with you and it starts with me and it starts with our knowledge. I am saving up my blog posts, my letters, my photographs, my friends, all my repositories of history, so that in the future I can know who I was and one of the many people for whom I will have spent a lifetime seeking justice.

Histories are never something to elide, and always something to record.

