Tags

,

When I was a kid, especially when I was eleven or so, I could sing along to just about every song on the radio. Now I can’t understand most of what I hear. Perhaps I just wish music was still in the 80s. Perhaps I just don’t try that hard. Anyway, there’s this scene in the un-feminist-friendly film 27 Dresses in which the two leads drunkenly sing Elton John’s Bennie and the Jets. So I figured I’d listen to the song myself and see what I heard.

The actual lyrics here.

Before you laugh at me, it must be said that I was listening to a CD with a live version of the song. Yeah, doesn’t help, does it.

Hey, kids, shake it loose and gather
This time as we could suffer
And know we change the weather
We kill the fire and come out tonight so stick around
You gotta hear left, your music solids bowls the sound

Oh coming round I haven’t seen him yet
Oh but so spaced out
B-b-b-Bennie and the Jetsssss
Oh it’s so weird and so wonderful
Oh baby she’s a record cane
She’s got electric boots
A mohair suit
You know I read it in a magazine oh-oh
B-b-b-Bennie and the Jetsssss

Hey kids, blow into the fey glass
Maybe live life
But Bennie makes a mid dress
Wish I was so far that I take myself along
Every fight I felt inside of the street
To find me sigh can love

Oh standing around haven’t seen him yet
Oh but you’re so spaced out
Oh B-b-b-Bennie and the Jetsssss
Home it’s the weird and the wonderful
Oh let her she’s a record cane
She’s got electric boots
A mohair suit
You know I read it in a magazine oh-oh
Oh Bennie and the Jets

I’m hanging around I haven’t seen him yet
Oh but you’re so spaced out
B-b-b-b-b-b-b-Bennie and the Jetsssss
Oh, mitts the weird and the wonderful
Oh Bennie she’s a wrecker cane
She’s got electric boots
A mohair suit
You know I read it in a magazine oh-oh

B-b-Bennie and the Jetsssss
Bennie, Bennie, Bennie, oh Bennie and the Jets
Bennie, Bennie, Bennie
Bennie, Bennie, Bennie
Bennie, Bennie, Bennie
Oh Bennie and the Jets
[and it continues on much like that]

Gotta love my inconsistency with the chorus.

