Tags

, ,

I can’t remember where I first heard of her; I have a feeling it was Shakesville. But this song made me an instant fan:

This is a song for / Every girl who’s / Ever been through something / She thought she couldn’t make it through, yeah / I sing these words because / I was that girl, too / Wanting something better than this / But who do I turn to?
Now we’re moving from the darkness into the light / This is the defining moment of our lives
Cause you’re beautiful / Like a flower / More valuable / Than a diamond / You are powerful / Like a fire / You will heal the world / With your mind and / There is nothing in the world that you cannot do / When you believe in you / Who are beautiful (yeah you) / Who are brilliant (yeah you) / Who are powerful (yeah you) / Who are resilient
This is a song for / Every girl who / Has ever been through something that / She thought she couldn’t make it through / Girl you can make it through / I sing these words because / I know you’re the one who / Knows there’s something better than this / And you’re gonna define it, yeah
Now we’re moving from the darkness into the light / This is the defining moment of our lives
Cause you’re beautiful / Like a flower / More valuable / Than a diamond / You are powerful / Like a fire / You will heal the world / With your mind and / There is nothing in the world that you cannot do / When you believe in you / Who are beautiful (yeah you) / Who are brilliant (yeah you) / Who are powerful (yeah you) / Who are resilient / Who are beautiful (yeah you) / Who are brilliant (yeah you) / Who are powerful (yeah you) / Who are resilient (yeah you) / Oh, yeah you / Hey, yeah you / Yeah you / Yeah you / Yeah you / Yeah you / Yeah you / Yeah you

(Lyrics adapted from those here.) It’s the original recording session for “Beautiful Flower”. This song was written for Oprah Winfrey’s Leadership Academy For Girls in South Africa.

India’s from America; she’s been recording since 2001; here’s her official website. I think she’s totally fabulous.

Here’s “India’s Song”.

Lyrics here. This one makes me quiet and gives me chills. A bit of background from the start of the video: ‘Five years ago – six years ago – I was in college in Savannah and my first love gave me a guitar. And I just started writing songs in the park. And this song right here is one of the first songs that I wrote.’

Here’s another lovely song, “Ready for Love”. They won’t let me embed the original video, so here’s a link to it. Click through; it’s worth it. Also worth it is this live performance:

Lyrics here.

Previously on Music Monday: Fiona Apple.

Bookmark and Share

