Tags

, ,

I wanted to direct your attention to a new feminist bookclub of radical readers started by frau sally benz. It’s centred on a dedicated blog and a Goodreads group. Each month, we’re going to be reading a voted-on book of feminist interest, fiction or non-fiction, and discussing it. The criteria for nominating books is pretty broad; go check out our reading list so far. (Yes, it was I who suggested feminist science fiction and fantasy writers Octavia Butler, Marge Piercy, Ursula K. Le Guin, Joanna Russ and Marion Zimmer Bradley, why do you ask?)

Unlike a regular bookclub, there are participants from all sorts of places and you can pop in whenever you please. You don’t have to participate heavily or indeed every month. The Internet: expanding your reading world in more ways then one. To help you along, a group of bloggers are going to be posting their thoughts through the month. I am one of these selfsame bloggers. Here is my first, astoundingly geeky post on Ancient Persian history. I meant it, I did actually get out my high school history notes to write it.

This month, we’re reading Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi (that is, The Complete Persepolis or Volumes 1 and 2 as published in English). It’s a beautiful, very readable graphic novel about the author’s childhood in Iran. I finished it yesterday and so I can attest to its winfulness!

Do join up. It’s going to be a lot of fun (especially if we do end up reading some science fiction*)!

*Speaking of which, sajbrfem – who just had a baby, congratulations!! – has a feminist science fiction bookclub you should check out! I’m afraid I haven’t participated thus far, but they’ve read some excellent novels. Namely, Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy and The Female Man by Joanna Russ, both of which are fem SF classics, both of which I need to do reviews of at some stage. Warning if you’re reading the latter: there’s some breathtaking transphobia towards the end. Joanna Russ has since thoroughly changed her attitude, I’m happy to say.

Bookmark and Share