Tags

, ,

Once upon a time – in August, in fact – I proposed putting together a list of teenagers blogging progressively.

I didn’t find many, but I was impressed by the variety. These are blogs by teenagers from a number of different countries, of different genders, identifying as trans and cis, with various sexual orientations, claiming different ability statuses, of different backgrounds, blogging their lives and books and activism and analysis. Not only do these bloggers write some great stuff, but when you’re next asked where all those politically apathetic teenagers are, you can point here.

Speaking of which, before I give you the list I want to have a brief discussion about where all those teenagers are. The lack of teenagers around progressive political spaces doesn’t speak to apathy. I know that’s not the case because I’ve been fortunate enough to keep company with some amazing politically-conscious teens. I might not always agree with the politics involved – have I ever known some conservative teenagers – but I admire the spirit behind it all, the passion about the world, regardless. Teenagers have, in fact, been some of the most driven, informed, effective activists I’ve known.

Here’s what I think the lack of teens in progressive spaces points to. Teens are, well, few in number. Our voices are discounted because we’re not taken very seriously by older people – and those younger than us are termed cute and then put out of mind. We’re in spaces of our own, doing work quite without the influence (interference, oftentimes!) of older people; not being in older people-centred spaces doesn’t mean we’re not around. We’re invisible; the meme of the selfish teen is so strong that our presence is regularly ignored. That is, we might actually be around, but we go unacknowledged or unrecognised as teens by those who don’t think anyone under twenty would be (as “anonymous” media like the Internet can illustrate perfectly). We’re also in positions of social vulnerability, often lacking the resources and knowledge to connect with fellow activists or to realise our potential as activists.

And I think it is just amazing that people who are so belittled, who lack much social clout and who are regularly invisibilised go on and do such good work in the world anyway.

I don’t doubt that the blogs listed below are only a fraction of those floating around the Internet. I’m pretty sure that there are those who, as I did for a time, decided that not making their teenagerhood explicit would afford them more respect. And one of the reasons it took me so long to collect these is that I don’t see many blogs by teens get linked around the progressive ‘sphere very much (or in the blogosphere in general, for that matter).

So, here you go. Please support these bloggers by clicking through and commenting if you’re so inclined.

Adventures of the TV Addict, the Wannabe Writer, and the Should-Be Famous by T.R Xands
All Girl Army, a group blog
Barbara’s Angels by Fiona Lowenstein
Charlotte’s Blog
Dorianisms by Dorian
fbomb, a group blog
genderkid
HellOnHairyLegs
Leaper’s Journal by Shiyiya
Outside the Dawn is Breaking
Reading in Color by Ari
stars wheel in purple by Avendya
The Ranting Teenager
The Trouble Is…
Warning: Caustic Contents by Labyrinth
Women’s Glib, a group blog

