Tags

, , , ,

First up, if you’re not reading The Curvature, why on earth not? Cara writes The Importance of Consent in Everyday Situations:

Many feminists and disability rights activists have made the argument long before I have, but I think it’s worth a repeat and a revisit. What if we didn’t assume our right to touch in everyday, non-sexual situations? What if we didn’t just take for granted that a certain touch will be okay? What if we were to not consider our own desires and thoughts about a certain touch, but those of the person we’re touching? Many would undoubtedly argue, and have argued, that the world would be a much colder and less intimate place. But I argue that it’d be a far more communicative place. It’d also be a world much safer to a wide variety of people. It’d be a world with a far more genuine respect for bodily autonomy and personal rights.

Dorian’s thinking on the concept of “Men Who Get It” over at Dorianisms.

You never stop learning.

I don’t really want to take a single quote from the next one because there are so many messages in there about teens and teaching and responsibility and, of course, Jessica Watson. It’s The ordinary girl by Spilt Milk.

Funnily enough, I’d just been thinking about John Marsden’s classic series (very prominent in the Australian YA landscape, overseas readers) and this very topic. Have a read of tomorrow, when the war began and the myth of imminent invasion by steph over at her new digs, 天高皇企鹅远.

Okay, wait, here is my explanation: as much as I loved this series for giving me a young Asian-Australian who wasn’t ‘exotic,’ who was just struggling with stuff and living his life and having romantic teenage entanglements with people who weren’t Asian, I hated this series for giving me an agressor who fed into the Australian zeitgeist of imminent invasion by the yellow hordes to the North.

I know where the Black Stork comes from, says Anna at Trouble Is Everywhere.

This continual fictional narrative of disability as trope is what makes me distrustful of disability in fiction. […] We are so much more than this, so much more than tropes, clichés, or tragedies.

Sarah Jaffe recently guest posted at Feministe. There’s a lot of food for thought in I’ll make you a deal like any other candidate…

It’s what makes me like bell hooks’s statement that instead of saying “I am a feminist,” one should say “I advocate feminism.” It changes it from an identity to an action. Otherwise anyone can declare themselves a feminist and then have to do nothing to help women. One can say “I’m not racist” and then get angry when called out on a racist action. It becomes not all that much different from claiming to help women simply by being a woman in the race.

This one from s.e. smith at this ain’t livin’ is one I found quite unsettling and very important. Here’s Penpal:

But I wonder, sometimes; the images of people I have seen, how they would feel, knowing that I looked at them.

Tera’s got an excellent and very sad post called The Right Kind over at Sweet Perdition. If my Memory post got you thinking, you’ll be wanting to read this one.

Somtimes I’m the right kind of person; other times, I’m not. There is “good” or “bad” behavior involved, no secret way to stay on the right side of personhood. There are only the whims of others; whether you line up with them or not, ultimately, has nothing to do with you.

Now to Ouyang Dan’s Being Native in the Twilight Saga and The Importance of Being Sam and Emily… which is an absolutely fantastic piece, doesn’t matter if you’ve read or seen Twilight or not:

I know that many people who grew up on reservations work hard to overcome stereotypes, that they work hard to make sure that they are never seen as someone who falls into the trap of being seen as just another “dirty Injun” or “angry drunk from the rez”. Yes, these stereotypes hurt more than just women and it hurts me to know that a series so popular would choose a Native American couple to display this kind of “accidental” event. It hurts me to my core to see it in Sam and Emily. Almost more so than an ancient duty that keeps the tribal youth from being properly educated and remaining high school dropouts, almost more so than it reducing them into barefoot savages who run around naked in the woods eating raw animal flesh and invading each others’ thoughts (and reducing the only woman wolf to a bitter and angry ex-girlfriend).

Lots of good stuff in Queen Emily’s You don’t get to out me, a guest post at Feministe:

When I out myself, or am outed, I never know what the reaction will be. Before hormones, and early transition, my transness was noticed quite frequently. Now, I have to be outed—by my documents most often, or by my friends, family and acquaintances. Which is where y’all come in. So here’s the deal: if you out us, you can do more damage than you can possibly imagine.