Tags

, , , , , ,

Previously: Dressember Days 1-2, Dressember Days 3-5, Dressember Days 6-8, Dressember Days 9-11.

Me, a pale woman with curly hair and glasses, smiling. I am in an outdoor setting and have my hands behind my back. I am wearing a dress with a skirt that flares out to just above my knees. The top section is lacy.Almost halfway through! My Dressember fundraising campaign has been going from strength to strength, and it’s at $772 now, so past at the revised goal of $750. You know what? I’m upping it to $1000. The response has been just incredible. Thanks very much again for contributing and spreading the word! It has been most heartening.

A reminder as to what it’s all about: I decided to put my experiments in and thinking around femininity and feminism towards a good cause, and signed up for Dressember, in which one is sponsored to wear dresses for a month in support of a women’s charity. I’m raising funds for the Hamlin Fistula® Relief and Aid Fund, which is the Australian representative of the Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital in Ethiopia. Fistulas are obstetric holes that develop during obstructed pregnancies, and they disproportionately affect youth and those who don’t have sufficient nutrition. They’re almost non-existent in the Western world, but thousands of cases develop each year in Asia and sub-Saharan Africa. The Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital is the only one of its kind in Ethiopia, and cures 93% of cases. It provides a home and employment for those with the other 7%, and is also training midwives so that fistulas will be minimised in Ethiopia in future. I’ve been passionate about this work for many years, and would appreciate anything you can donate towards my month-long fundraising campaign.

Me, a pale woman with curly hair and glasses, smiling. I am in an outdoor setting and have my hands at my sides. I am wearing a short cream dress.Monday’s dress is a favourite, and the scooped neckline was a lucky feature for my sore back as I got very very sunburned on the pier featured in Sunday’s photograph. The things I do for this blog, venturing outdoors and everything. The dress doesn’t have a particularly good story just yet, just a silly one about ballet, but hopefully that will change. History doesn’t always come with the dress, particularly new ones; sometimes it has to be sewn in as time goes on. I am excited to meet it, whatever it may be!

My dress from December 13th is another hand-me-down. There are cords to tie in the back as well as in the front, and apparently these can all be tied in a number of ways. I look forward to being told exactly how it might all work by the person who gave the dress to me. Another story yet to learn, I suppose. It’s a very comfortable dress.

Me, a pale woman with curly hair and glasses, smiling. I am leaning against a red wall with my hands behind my back. I am wearing a blue dress over a lighter blue top, with socks with a cloudy sky pattern on them.I purchased today’s dress three years ago in Melbourne. It was a very strange day indeed. It was the day on which my school results were released – which is the case today for the class of 2011. I had quite forgotten about the release and spent the early part of the morning watching, I think, SpongeBob SquarePants. My mother was a little concerned. Eventually I remembered, and we dashed off to check it online and found out that I did rather brilliantly, if I do say so myself. The first thing I did after walking out of the Internet cafe was to cross the street, walk into a shop, and buy this dress. It’s my dress of achievement. I hope you like the sky socks as much as I do.

Those are my dresses and my stories. Please donate to the campaign and/or spread the word if you’re so inclined or able!

