Tags

, , , , , ,

Previously: Dressember Days 1-2, Dressember Days 3-5, Dressember Days 6-8, Dressember Days 9-11, Dressember Days 12-14, Dressember Days 15-18, Dressember Days 19-21, Dressember Days 22-25.
Me, a pale woman with curly hair and glasses, with my hands behind my back, in an outdoor setting. I am wearing a red dress with sleeves to my elbows; the hem isn't visible.
Just three more days! The Dressember fundraising campaign is looking pretty strong at $952 and $12 in pledges, so we’re looking for just another $30 to hit $1000! Can we do it? I may actually be able to make it on the dress front, having scrambled to find another person to lend me a dress. Thank you very much indeed to everyone who is contributing, spreading the word, or just enjoying the posts and being aware of this issue.

A reminder as to what it’s all about: I decided to put my experiments in and thinking around femininity and feminism towards a good cause, and signed up for Dressember, in which one is sponsored to wear dresses for a month in support of a women’s charity. I’m raising funds for the Hamlin Fistula® Relief and Aid Fund, which is the Australian representative of the Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital in Ethiopia. Fistulas are obstetric holes that develop during obstructed pregnancies, and they disproportionately affect youth and those who don’t have sufficient nutrition. They’re Me, a pale woman with curly hair and glasses, in an outdoor setting, with hands on my hips. I am wearing a white cardigan over a green satiny dress with a puffy skirt and lots of layers.almost non-existent in the Western world, but thousands of cases develop each year in Asia and sub-Saharan Africa. The Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital is the only one of its kind in Ethiopia, and cures 93% of cases. It provides a home and employment for those with the other 7%, and is also training midwives so that fistulas will be minimised in Ethiopia in future. I’ve been passionate about this work for many years, and would appreciate anything you can donate towards my month-long fundraising campaign.

Dress #26 was borrowed from my mother as I needed a vaguely conservative dress that day and had run out. If you consider red vaguely conservative, I suppose. It’s a good dress; I borrow it sometimes when I need to be semi-professional, and previously most recently wore it with my lovely red beret with a pompom on top.

Me, a pale woman with curly hair and glasses, in an outdoor setting, with my hands by my sides. I am wearing a black knee-length dress with short sleeves with a denim waistcoast and a yellow and blue transparent scarf.Dress #27 has never fit me, and it sure didn’t yesterday – it’s a hand-me-down, obviously. It’s the first time I’ve worn it for a full day, and sneezing was an interesting experience in an outfit that tight. It’s a beautiful dress, and I enjoy the swishing sound it makes. It’s from the 1970s, but it was old fashioned for the time – I think it’s modelled on a ’40s or ’50s style?

By today, I was seriously missing wearing black and waistcoats and fedoras and clompy boots – femininity is great, but I need to mix things up a little! So I fished out some black and my denim waistcoat, but killed the effect with my lovely floaty scarf. This dress is full of memories of graduation, staying up all night, and, from today, a lovely day in the sun laughing with a good friend.

That’s it for the second last time. Please donate to the campaign and/or spread the word if you’re so inclined and able.

