Tags

, , , , , ,

Previously: Dressember Days 1-2, Dressember Days 3-5, Dressember Days 6-8, Dressember Days 9-11, Dressember Days 12-14, Dressember Days 15-18, Dressember Days 19-21, Dressember Days 22-25, Dressember Days 26-28.

Me, a pale curly haired woman with glasses, in an outdoor setting, with my hands behind my back, and smiling. I am wearing a knee-length cream knit dress with a sash about the waist.The Dressember fundraising campaign has been a sterling success, with $48 being thrown in by two kind beings at just a few minutes to midnight. That brings us up to $1000 exactly. I am so pleased and proud. Thank you all very much again for following along and supporting this campaign. Remember, donations are open through 1 January, as far as eastern Australia is concerned, so please feel free to drop a few more dollars in.

A reminder as to what it’s all about: I decided to put my experiments in and thinking around femininity and feminism towards a good cause, and signed up for Dressember, in which one is sponsored to wear dresses for a month in support of a women’s charity. I’m raising funds for the Hamlin Fistula® Relief and Aid Fund, which is the Australian representative of the Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital in Ethiopia. Fistulas are obstetric holes that develop during obstructed pregnancies, and they disproportionately affect youth and those who don’t have sufficient nutrition. They’re almost non-existent in the Western world, but Me, a pale curly haired woman with glasses, in an outdoor setting, with my hands on my hips, and smiling. I am wearing a purple dress with a collar and a bow around the waist.thousands of cases develop each year in Asia and sub-Saharan Africa. The Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital is the only one of its kind in Ethiopia, and cures 93% of cases. It provides a home and employment for those with the other 7%, and is also training midwives so that fistulas will be minimised in Ethiopia in future. I’ve been passionate about this work for many years, and would appreciate anything you can donate towards my month-long fundraising campaign.

Dress #29 was the dress I wore to my high school graduation dinner. It took a good long while to pick out, and it’s definitely my most stylish semi-wintery dress. I like wearing my hair pinned up with this one.

Dress #30 is a borrowing from highlyeccentric. She very kindly came in to save me right at the end there where I had absolutely run out of dresses (except for my Year 10 formal dress, which has a stain on the front I do not recall making, but will one day hopefully remove). Cheers, Highly, and I shall return your dress of lovely style to you shortly!

Me, a pale curly haired woman with glasses, in an outdoor setting, with my hands behind my back, and smiling. I am wearing a brown halterneck dress under a white cardigan.I was saving 31 December’s dress for New Year’s Eve, because it is a rather glamorous cocktail dress I like quite a lot and haven’t worn very much. Look, I even engaged in a quarter-arsed attempt at make-up for the photo. You can’t really get all the detail in a photo of this size, but it has some amazing panelling. I ended up turning down offers to go out last night and spent most of the day engaging in some much needed sleep, waking up just in time for the 9pm fireworks. Today I’m cleaning in advance of a hopefully clear and shiny year, and enjoying the fact that I am allowed to wear t-shirts and sweatpants again!

That’s it, for a very worthy cause, for the last time. Please donate to the campaign and/or spread the word if you’re so inclined and able. I am really looking forward to stompy boots and hoodies again. I’m thinking I’ll also get back to the new make up and nail polish I evidently didn’t wear all month, too, so it could be an interesting next little while in the gender presentation stakes.